Spread the love

Information Communication and Digital Economy CS Eliud Owalo has appointed seven members to the Communication and the Multimedia Appeals Tribunal.

In a gazette notice dated March 25, Owalo appointed Rosemary Wacera Kuria as the Chairperson of the tribunal.

Wacera has been appointed among other members like Communications expert Patience Nyange, Vivienne Namadoa, Manyura Tiberius Nyangau, Ruth Okowa, Timothy Toroney and Samson Wambua Kitonyi.

The seven will serve in the Appeals Tribunal for the next three years.


The gazette notice said the mandate began on March 22, 2024.

The Communications and Multimedia Appeals Tribunal (CAMAT) is established under Section 102 of the Kenya Information and Communications Act 1998.

It has both original and appellate jurisdiction.

Its original jurisdiction includes hearing and determination of complaints by any person aggrieved by; any publication by or conduct of a journalist or media enterprise; anything done against a journalist or media enterprise that limits or interferes with the constitutional free freedom of expression of such journalist or media enterprise; or any action taken, any omission made or any decision made by any person under the Act.

Nyange’s appointment to Stae jobe comes barely a week after IGAD announced that it tapped on her expertise to further strengthen its communication across the globe.

Nyange will serve under the Office of the Executive Secretary of IGAD, Dr Workneh Gebeyehu. She took up her new role in March 2024.

dalanews.co.ke https://g.page/r/CerTmAWCtzj4EBM/review¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬ÿÛ C

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *