Spread the love

The 2023 Africa Cup of Nations is underway with shocks aplenty in the opening few days alone.

Host nation Ivory Coast saw off Guinea-Bissau to get the tournament going before Nigeria were held to a draw by Equatorial Guinea and Mozambique were denied a first-ever AFCON win by Mohamed Salah’s late penalty for Egypt. Ghana then tumbled to a shock defeat against Cape Verde.

Monday saw defending champions Senegal ease past The Gambia and Cameroon held by 10-man Guinea, before Algeria were held by Angola.


Across four weeks of football, 24 nations will battle it out for the biggest prize in African football. Morocco are favourites, followed closely by Senegal, hosts Ivory Coast, Algeria and Nigeria.


The top two of each group will go through plus the top four third-placed sides, ahead of a knockout stage beginning in the last-16 later this month.

This year’s AFCON was delayed from last summer due to concerns over the monsoon season in west Africa.

Fixtures, schedule and results (all times GMT)
Group A
Saturday, January 13

Ivory Coast 2-0 Guinea-Bissau
Sunday, January 14

Nigeria 1-1 Equatorial Guinea
Thursday, January 18

Equatorial Guinea vs Guinea-Bissau (Alassane Ouattara Stadium, 2pm)
Ivory Coast vs Nigeria (Alassane Ouattara Stadium, 5pm)
Monday, January 22

Equatorial Guinea vs Ivory Coast (Alassane Ouattara Stadium, 5pm)
Guinea-Bissau vs Nigeria (Felix Houphouet-Boigny Stadium, 5pm)

Group B
Sunday, January 14

Egypt 1-1 Mozambique
Ghana 1-2 Cape Verde
Thursday, January 18

Egypt vs Ghana (Felix Houphouet-Boigny Stadium, 8pm)
Friday, January 19

Cape Verde vs Mozambique (Felix Houphouet-Boigny Stadium, 2pm)
Monday, January 22

Cape Verde vs Egypt (Felix Houphouet-Boigny Stadium, 8pm)
Mozambique vs Ghana (Alassane Ouattara Stadium, 8pm)

Group C
Monday, January 15

Senegal 3-0 Gambia
Cameroon 1-1 Guinea
Friday, January 19

Senegal vs Cameroon (Yamoussoukro, 5pm)
Guinea vs Gambia (Yamoussoukro, 8pm)
Tuesday, January 23

Gambia vs Cameroon (Bouake, 5pm)
Guinea vs Senegal (Yamoussoukro, 5pm)

Group D
Monday, January 15

Algeria 1-1 Angola
Tuesday, January 16

Burkina Faso vs Mauritania (Bouake, 2pm)
Saturday, January 20

Algeria vs Burkina Faso (Bouake, 2pm)
Mauritania vs Angola (Bouake, 5pm)
Tuesday, January 23

Angola vs Burkina Faso (Yamoussoukro, 8pm)
Mauritania vs Algeria (Bouake, 8pm)

Group E
Tuesday, January 16

Tunisia vs Namibia (Amadou Gon Coulibaly Stadium, 5pm)
Mali vs South Africa (Korhogo, 8pm)
Saturday, January 20

Tunisia vs Mali (Korhogo, 8pm)
Sunday, January 21

South Africa vs Namibia (Korhogo, 8pm)
Wednesday, January 24

Namibia vs Mali (San Pedro, 5pm)
South Africa vs Tunisia (Korhogo, 5pm)

Group F
Wednesday, January 17

Morocco vs Tanzania (Laurent Pokou Stadium, 5pm)
DR Congo vs Zambia (San Pedro, 8pm)
Sunday, January 21

Morocco vs DR Congo (San Pedro, 2pm)
Zambia vs Tanzania (San Pedro, 5pm)
Wednesday, January 24

Tanzania vs DR Congo (Korhogo, 8pm)
Zambia vs Morocco (San Pedro, 8pm)


Knockout stage
Saturday, January 27

1: Group D Winner vs 3rd Place Group B/E/F (Bouake, 5pm)
2: Group A Second Place vs Group C Second Place (Felix Houphouet-Boigny Stadium, 8pm)
Sunday, January 28

3: Group A Winner vs 3rd Place Group C/D/E (Alassane Ouattara Stadium, 5pm)
4: Group B Second Place vs Group F Second Place (San Pedro, 8pm)
Monday, January 29

5: Group B Winner vs 3rd Place Group A/C/D (Felix Houphouet-Boigny Stadium, 5pm)
6: Group C Winner vs 3rd Place Group A/B/F (Yamoussoukro, 8pm)
Tuesday, January 30

7: Group E Winner vs Group D Second Place (Korhogo, 5pm)
8: Group F Winner vs Group E Second Place (San Pedro, 8pm)

Friday, February 2

1: Winner 2 vs Winner 1 (Felix Houphouet-Boigny Stadium, 5pm)
2: Winner 4 vs Winner 3 (Alassane Ouattara Stadium, 8pm)
Saturday, February 3

3: Winner 7 vs Winner 6 (Bouake, 5pm)
4: Winner 5 vs Winner 8 (Yamoussoukro, 8pm)
Wednesday, February 7

1: Winner 1 vs Winner 4 (Bouake, 5pm)
2: Winner 3 vs Winner 2 (Alassane Ouattara Stadium, 8pm)
Third place play-off
Saturday, February 10

Loser semi-final 1 vs Loser semi-final 2 (Felix Houphouet-Boigny Stadium, 8pm)

Sunday, February 11

Winner semi-final 1 vs Winner semi-final 2 (Alassane Ouattara Stadium, 8pm)


dalanews.co.ke https://g.page/r/CerTmAWCtzj4EBM/review¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬ÿÛ C

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!